TES Schools Awards 2016 :: Shortlist
Congratulations to all our winners


We can now reveal the names of the schools and teachers that have made the shortlist for our prestigious annual TES Schools Awards.
The awards, now in their seventh year, recognise the outstanding contribution to education made by teams and individuals both inside and outside schools.
The winners will be revealed at a sparkling awards ceremony and dinner in the Grosvenor House Hotel in Park Lane, London, on the evening of Friday, June 24.

Overall school of the year 

This award will be given to one of the winners in the primary, secondary, early years and alternative provision categories.  


Sponsored by


Early years setting of the year

Boldon Outdoor Nursery School, South Tyneside
Braywick Court School, Maidenhead
Bright Stars Nursery, Sunderland
Broadford Primary EYFS, Romford
Etching Hill Primary School, Rugeley
Jack and Jill School, Twickenham
The Early Years Team at Ormiston Herman Academy, Great Yarmouth
Young Explorers at Hillside Community Primary School, Skelmerdale

Sponsored by


Primary school of the year

Broadford Primary School, Romford
Millbrook Primary School, Stalybridge
New Park Primary School, Liverpool, Merseyside
Our Lady of Pity Catholic Primary School
Shrubland Street Primary School, Warwickshire
St. Peter's CE Primary School, Bolton
Vauxhall Primary School, London
Whitehill Junior School, Hertfordshire

Sponsored by


Secondary school of the year

Ark St Alban's Academy, Birmingham
Fulham Cross Girls' School, London
Monkseaton High School, Tyne and Wear
Rushcliffe School, Nottingham
Sir John Leman High School, Suffolk
St. Gregory's Catholic Science College, Middlesex
St. Ninian's High School, East Dunbartonshire
Stanley Park High, Surrey

Sponsored by

Alternative provision school of the year

Belmont School, Lancashire
Birtenshaw, Bolton
Charlton Park Academy, London
Falkland House School, Fife
Gloucestershire Hospital Education Service, Cheltenham
Limes College, Sutton
Victoria Education Centre, Dorset
Youth Engagement Slough 

Sponsored by


Headteacher of the year

Chris Thomas, Beacon Rise Primary School, Bristol
Malcolm Drakes, Broadford Primary School, Romford
Stuart Maxwell, Eastwood High School, East Renfrewshire
Julie Elaine McDonald, Hillcrest Early Years Academy, Lincolnshire
Karen Hutchings, New Park Primary School, Liverpool
Derek John Peaple, Park House School, Berkshire
Pat McGuckian, St Patrick's High School, County Armagh
Matt Middlemore, Tregolls School, Cornwall

Sponsored by

Science, technology and engineering teacher or team of the year

Science, Maths and Engineering Teams, The Ark St Alban’s Academy, Birmingham
Katrena McDonald, Ayr Academy, South Ayrshire
The Science Team, Bordesley Green Girls’ School and Sixth Form, Birmingham
Dan Quinton, Caterham School, Surrey
Science Team, Mearns Primary School, East Renfrewshire 
The Ogden Trust Primary Science Team, Worcester
Dr Caroline Oprandi, Portslade Aldridge Community Academy, East Sussex
Wigan University Technology College, Manchester

Sponsored by

English teacher or team of the year

Bridgwater College Academy, Somerset
The District CE Primary School, Merseyside
Eastbury Community School, London
Seaham School of Technology, County Durham
Shrubland Street Primary School, Warwickshire
St John’s Catholic Primary School, Lancashire
Tameside English Team, Tameside Secondary English Teams
Katherine Shakeshaft, Whalley Range 11-18 High School, Manchester

Sponsored by


Maths teacher or team of the year

Alcester Academy, Warwickshire
Holyhead School, Birmingham
Our Lady of Pity RC Primary School, Merseyside
Pool Academy, Cornwall
St Patrick's High School, Keady
Tiffin School, Surrey
Clare Hill, Twynham School, Dorset
Vauxhall Primary School, London

Sponsored by


Arts and drama teacher or team of the year

James Yarrington, Alcester Academy, Warwickshire 
Hull Collegiate School, East Yorkshire
Millbrook Academy, Gloucestershire
Mike Issitt and Amanda Cummings, Prince Rock Primary School, Plymouth
Seaham School of Technology, County Durham
Carolyn Booth, St John Fisher Catholic High School, North Yorkshire 
Victoria Education Centre, Dorset
Danell Hughes, Wade Deacon High School, Cheshire

Community and collaboration award

Broadford Primary School, Romford
Endon High School, Staffordshire
Gateacre School, Liverpool
Manchester Enterprise Academy and Lloyds Banking Group, Manchester
Pallister Park Primary School, Middlesbrough
Seaham School of Technology, County Durham
St Ninian's High School, East Dunbartonshire
Victoria Park Primary Academy, West Midlands

Sponsored by

International (including MFL) award

Abraham Moss Community School, Manchester
Bay House School and Sixth Form, Gosport
Birmingham Ormiston Academy, West Midlands
Cherry Grove Primary School, Chester
Endon High School, Staffordshire
Frances Olive Anderson Primary School, Lincolnshire
Haygrove School, Somerset
Oakwood Primary Academy, West Yorkshire

Sponsored by


Healthy school of the year

Bay House School and Sixth Form, Gosport
Bright Stars Nursery, Sunderland
Broadford Primary School, Romford
Queen Ethelburga's Collegiate, North Yorkshire
Vauxhall Primary School, London
Washingborough Academy, Lincolnshire
Westfield School, Bedford
Wilds Lodge School, Rutland


Sponsored by


Creative school of the year

Arrow Vale RSA Academy, Worcestershire
Middleton Park School, Aberdeen
Portesbery School, Surrey
Shrubland Street Primary School, Warwickshire
St John's Catholic Primary School, Skelmersdale
The Stephen Perse Foundation, Cambridge
Treviglas Community College, Cornwall
Victoria Education Centre, Dorset

Sponsored by

The Bev Evans award for resource author of the year

Andy Lutwyche
Caroline Musserotte
Claire Kent
Gianfranco Conti
Hannah Lester
John Hudson
Lynne Blackburn
Paul Urry

Teacher blogger of the year

Andy Lewis
The Girl on the Piccadilly Line
Mr Histoire
James Theo
Natalie Scott
Paul Woodward


Lifetime achievement award

The shortlist for this award is kept secret. The winner will be revealed at the ceremony on Friday 24 June.


Sponsored by