The 2018 shortlist for the Tes Schools Awards. The winners will be announced at our awards ceremony at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London on Friday 22 June.

Early years setting of the year

● Abraham Moss Community School, Manchester

● Clyde Early Childhood Centre, Lewisham

● Diamond Wood Community Academy, Dewsbury

● Handcross Park School, Haywards Heath

● Hillcrest Early Years Academy/GAPA at Hillcrest, Gainsborough

● Pebbles Childcare, Worthing

● Pen Green Centre for Children and their Families, Corby

Primary school of the year

● Boundary Primary School, Blackpool

● Christ Church CE Primary School, Sparkbrook

● Countess Anne School, Hatfield

● Curwen Primary School, Plaistow

● Eldon Primary School, Preston

● Feversham Primary Academy, Bradford

● Mayflower Primary School, London

● Shaldon Primary School, Shaldon

Secondary school of the year

Sponsored by 

● Alperton Community School, Brent

● Formby High School, Formby

● Fulham Cross Girls’ School, Fulham

● Isaac Newton Academy, Ilford

● Kensington Aldridge Academy, North Kensington

● Ormiston Chadwick Academy, Widnes

● St Ninian’s High, Kirkintilloch

● St John Plessington Catholic College, Wirral 

Alternative provision school of the year

● The Beckmead Family of Schools, Beckenham

● Brookside Academy, Street

● Clare Mount Specialist Sports College, Wirral

● Finch Woods Academy, Liverpool

● Gloucestershire Hospital Education Service, Cheltenham

● Knowle DGE Learning Centre, Bristol

● London East Alternative Provision, London

● Malden Oaks Pupil Referral Unit, Kingston upon Thames 

New teacher of the year

Sponsored by 

● Abed Ahmed (Holte School, Birmingham)

● Maria Angel MBE (St Teresa’s, Effingham)

● Emma Buckley (Venturers’ Academy, Bristol)

● Lisa Buckley (Lakeside School, Liverpool)

● Sean Di Sora (Mountwood Academy, Preston)

● Caroline Keep (Penketh High School, Warrington)

● Elizabeth Selvey (Nether Edge Primary, Sheffield)

● Benjamin Turner (Oasis Academy Shirley Park, Croydon) 

Headteacher of the year

● Serge Cefai (Sacred Heart Catholic School, Camberwell)

● Malcolm Drakes (Mead Primary, Romford)

● Chris Dyson (Parklands Primary, Leeds)

● Tuesday Humby (Ormiston Chadwick Academy, Widnes)

● Gary Moore (Regent High School, Camden)

● Jane Nolan (Ormiston South Parade Academy, Grimsby)

● Glenn Russell (Stalham Academy, Norfolk)

● Shane Tewes (Woodside Primary Academy, Walthamstow) 

Employer of the year

● Feversham Primary Academy, Bradford

● Hillcrest Academy, Gainsborough

● Longwood Primary Academy, Harlow

● Mead Primary, Romford

● Round Diamond School, Stevenage

● St Peter’s CE Primary School, Farnworth

● Thinking Schools Academy Trust, Kent

● Wolverhampton Grammar School, Wolverhampton

English teacher or team of the year

● De Aston School Academy Trust, Market Rasen: Sarah Peacock

● Danes Hill School, Oxshott

● The Federation of St Joseph’s Catholic Junior, Infant and Nursery Schools, London

● Grange Park Primary School, Sunderland

● Hovingham Primary School, Leeds

● Penwortham Girls’ High School, Penwortham

● The Learning Academies Trust English Team, Plymouth

● Wyndham Primary Academy, Derby

Innovative use of technology to influence outcomes

Sponsored by 

● Forest Gate Community School, London

● Jubilee Wood Primary School, Fishermead

● Levenshulme High School, Manchester: Sheraz Ali

● Lycée International de Londres Winston Churchill, Wembley: Cedric Durantin

● Seaview Primary School and Nursery, Belfast

● Westmorland School, Chorley

● Ysgol Bro Dinefwr, Llandeilo: Ian Chriswick, Stephen Crawford and Simon Davies

Maths teacher or team of the year

Sponsored by 

● Masefield Primary School, Bolton: Andy Done

● Mill Ford Special School, Plymouth: Celina Cox

● The North London Collegiate School, Edgware

● Ormiston Chadwick Academy, Cheshire: Nicola Whiston

● Parklands Primary, Leeds

● The Totteridge Academy, Barnet

● Wolverhampton Grammar School, Wolverhampton : Nic Anderson

● Wyndham Primary Academy, Derby

Science, technology and engineering teacher or team of the year

● Ardingly College, Haywards Heath

● Dalziel High School, Motherwell

● Eastbury Community School, Barking

● Gomer Junior School, Gosport

● Kirton Primary School, Boston

● LWS Academy, Southampton

● The Mosslands School, Wirral

● The Ursuline Academy Ilford 

International award

Sponsored by 

● The Abbey School, Faversham

● Brighton College, Brighton

● Cherry Grove Primary School, Chester

● Dane Royd Junior and Infant School, Wakefield

● Endon High School, Endon

● Hull Collegiate School, Anlaby

● Little Bowden Primary School, Market Harborough

● Redmaids’ High School, Bristol 

Sustainable schools award

Sponsored by 

● Beswick & Watton CE VC Primary, Driffield

● Damers First School, Poundbury

● Accrington St Christopher’s CE High School, Accrington

● St Benedict’s Infant School, Birmingham 

● St Gregory’s Catholic Science College, Harrow

● Sunnyside Primary, Glasgow

● Ulidia Integrated College, Carrickfergus

● Victoria Park Primary, Bedminster

Community and collaboration award

Sponsored by 

● Abingdon School, Abingdon

● Alsop High School, Liverpool

● Brookside Academy, Street

● Gosforth Academy, Newcastle upon Tyne

● The Hollins, Accrington

● The Moment in Time collaborative project, led by Christina Anderson, Woolenwick Infant and Nursery School, Stevenage, and supported by Andy Reavell, Barnwell School, Stevenage

● Park Community School, Havant

● Thistley Hough Academy, Penkhull 

Healthy school of the year

Sponsored by 

● Birtenshaw School, Bolton

● Charlton Manor Primary, London

● Hall Cliffe School, Horbury

● The Limes College, Sutton

● Longwood Primary Academy and Nursery, Harlow

● Morecambe Bay Community Primary School, Morecambe

● Westminster Academy, London

● Wilds Lodge School, Empingham 

Creative school of the year

Sponsored by 

● Chapel Break Infant School, Norwich

● Dagenham Park Church of England School, Dagenham

● Formby High School, Liverpool

● Seal Church of England Primary School, Sevenoaks

● Staindrop Church of England Primary, Darlington

● St Marylebone Church of England School, Marylebone

● Varndean School, Brighton

● Wilds Lodge School, Empingham 

Lifetime achievement

There is no shortlist for this category. The winner will be announced at the awards ceremony. 

Overall school of the year

Sponsored by 

The winner for the overall school of the year (which is chosen from the four winners of the early years, primary, secondary and alternative provision school of the year categories)